What caused inflation in the 70s?

Discussion in 'Economics' started by bridenour, Jan 2, 2010.

1. Hi,

Can anyone enlighten me as to what caused the decade of inflation in the 70s? Obvs the gov raised interest rates in an effort to stem the issue, but what caused it originally and what made it persist?

Looking at today's situation, I am convinced the gov needs to cause significant inflation to enable our ability to meet our federal obligations (SS, Med, etc) and to keep housing deflation from crushing the nation. However, I don't have a good sense as to whether they can actually accomplish this.

Was inlfation caused purposely in the 70's, or was it an accident?

2. I was a rookie in the hardware/lumber business, man all we did was change prices.

Inlflation probably had many causes, the war, Johnson's social policies, environmental regulations, added costs with no benefits which trashed productivity.

3. I think I recall reading in Market Wizards a trader who traded lumber in the 70s.. the gov't went and fixed the price of lumber for a while... people were trading away from exchanges..

4. i remember my econ professor couple of years ago told us...

if you ever think inflation think one thing....the federal reserve

if there is every inflation its because the federal reserve printed too much money...period.

5. pspr

pspr

Simple answer, OPEC.