What can I do to learn the most about the market?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by MoneyMaker, May 25, 2008.

1. Currently i am a college freshman who knows very little about the stock market and trading, what should i do to gain the knowledge i need to start trading?

2. ElCubano

ElCubano

start trading....

3. Sit in front of the screen every day from 9:30-4:00 and watch the charts, the full book depth, and every print, and keep your eye on the S&P futures, the TICK, and the sectors. Watch whatever stocks are in play that day.

4. This is easy to answer.

If want to learn to trade, start trading. Trading isn't learned through a book, it's not learned through simulation, it's learned by first losing money and then figuring out why you lost it.

If your like most people though you'll soon learn that what you need to understand in order to trade successfully isn't the stock market so much as it is fixing all the things that are wrong with you as a person that stop you from winning.

A good understanding of money money would help you though. At least that keeps you in the game long enough to figure out why your screwing up so badly.

5. Take up surfing.

6. You must be getting "A" grades in your math, science & engineering classes before being distracted/corrupted by the market.

7. Stephen47

Stephen47

Talking about ways to trade, is anybody using this software? I note there was a thread a few years back, mostly negative posts. But the company's still in business, so maybe they've got something going for them. I used it myself two years ago, and got burnt. But I'm pretty sure that was operator error. Anybody with recent experience have any advice?

8. Hmm well i am in business not engineering i guess i am screwed :p