What are realistic goals for an 18-year old swing/position trader?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by TraderGreg, Jun 7, 2008.

1. I have been studying the market for what I estimate to be around 300-400 hours in the past 7 months. I am opening my trading account in the next few weeks, after my last sessions of paper trading. I will have four years of college during which I plan to grow my trading account, and be trading professionally immediately after college. My current goals are 2% a week on average for the 4 years, partly due to the fact that I am starting out with only $1500, and commissions are $10 per entry and exit, and partly because I know I am still an amateur. Anyway, over four years, I see (1.02^50)^4 coming out at 52.48 times my principal of 1500 for a trading account totaling $78700 roughly. Withdrawals should not be necessary as I will hold a part-time job, although I am not sure about taxes. I am still a dependent as I am in college. Any input will help. Thanks.

2. bstay

bstay

No problem .... it's easy. That's why everybody here is doing it.

3. Take your 1500 and place it in a good mutual fund. Paper trade for your 4 years in school, or just donate it now to a good charity.

4. your comm is 1.33% of your account. how much did you generate per trade in your paper account to make 2% per week? why not first save 13.5K and have better odds of making it?

5. cszulc

cszulc

There's your problem. You're figuring in exponential growth, not just getting 2% on $1500 weekly. It's easy to take an account from $1500 to $3000, sometimes even $3000 to $6000, but once you get that high you'll find yourself with psychology problems because of increased trading size and larger account swings.

With your logic and exponential growth, 10 years of doing this would bring you $29.9+ million!

6. You should be happy if you can make a 10% annual return after commissions on that account.