What annual percentage returns do the best traders make?

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by canadian_dude, Jun 10, 2002.

1. I am just curious what experienced senior traders out there consider to be an outstanding annual return on their money?

What are the best traders you know making per year as a percentage return on their funds?

Because even though I am not that experienced, I am making very good returns, better than I ever hoped for when I began. I have made a 41% return on my capital since April 24th when I started trading the Nasdaq e-mini for the first time, that was about 6 weeks ago. For the record, I made about $45,000 on a capital base of $110,000 (US funds) when I started 6 weeks ago.

Before that I made money trading QQQ earlier this year, also with good results.

I am not trying to brag or anything, but are other top traders making this kind of return? Because I am in disbelief that I have made this much this fast. I had a trading plan when I started, and it has worked, much to my surprise and delight.

Anyway, I just wondered what other top traders out there are making annually.

2. Commisso

Commisso Guest

Canadian,

It is pretty hard to measure % returns on a relative basis because every trader uses different risk to achieve his goals...

Risk and Reward as you know are proportionate to one another...

When I was trading stocks, I risked 1-1.5% of my capital per play(liquidity permitting) and was able to return apporximately 17 units per month on avg at the end of the year BUT the 17% a month was not compounded due to size constraints...

If you dont mind me asking what is your risk per trade on a % basis of your capital???

PEACE and good trading,
    Commisso

3. I have always used a 4 times margin factor, even when I still traded QQQ. So when I take a position, it is for 4 times my capital. When I started, I had $110,000 in capital and traded about 16 contracts. I currently traded 26 contracts this morning.