what am I ?

Discussion in 'Journals' started by traitor786, Jan 31, 2011.

1. I used to trade stocks holding for 3-5 days.

My stocks were chosen based a bit on common sense technicle analysis and looking at the news,

I would read hundreds of news articles and was lucky if i could get 1 opporunity every 2 months.

When I would find an opportunity I would usually get 20% gains consistently but this would just be a few times a year.

I am willing to accept that there is a 30% chance this was pure luck and if i continued it i would lose everything. As it is said "trading the news never works" ( a theory i believe in 98% of the time.)

I am 100% self taught. by self taught I mean I never read a book or looked in to these kind of forums, I started by looking at the highest percent gains and then reading to see what news was relevant. and found only 2% was relevant,

I wouldn't touch mining stocks cause i just didn't understand their news, it was too technical.

This was years ago, like when google just IPO'd on german or deutch auction which i couldn't buy for 80$ because i was not a US citizen, i wanted it purely because google was a well known name and one of the most well known IPOs out there. for sure it would get alot of news exposure that would sell shares,

now Im looking to get in to trading a bit more seriously and started learning technical analysis I got the book "high probability trading " as recommended by users on this site started reading it and found it to be very obvious.Though im not done the book. I have used these Technics in the past I came up with indicators that some one explained me over cofee in 5 mins and then added things on my own. Never relying totally on technical aspects,

now I am back in the game. I want to difine myself and found that despite the fact i trade the news that TA would be the best place to start as they look at the graph as much as i do ,