What am I supposed to do now?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by traderguy02, Feb 21, 2006.

1. I have been trading for about 5 yrs. First 2-3 yrs were part time just some simple buy-hold stock positions and learning about the market in general. For the last 2-3 yrs I switched over to position trading with options and eventually futures options. With stock options I actually made a decent amount of money. About the same as any kid fresh out of college would have made with a "regular" job. Then I tried to be brave went into futures options and the trends killed me, blew my account. Since then I have tried to automate systems for day trading and just tried day trading in general. Still its just not working in my favor much. I feel I have gained a wealth of knowledge regarding financial markets, though I am concerned all my hard work is not going provide much for me in the future. I have no resume or degree to justify the work I have done through trial and error while studying the markets. I am 26 yrs old have 4 yr degree which I have never put to use much beyond working for my father. I would hate to let everything I have learned just get flushed down the drain. Has anybody been in a similar situation? Should I go back to school for a masters degree in something similar to finance. My gpa wasn't the best for the B.S. and I don't know if I could qualify trading as "work experience?" I wish I could make the whole trading thing work, mostly b/c I love the environment the ability to be your own boss etc etc.. but I just don't know how in over my head I'm getting. Can't keep losing forever. Would love any suggestions from anybody who may have traveled this road before.

2. You had a nice run kid. You must be very proud of yourself for giving yourself a chance. Most people are not in a position to give their dreams to be a trader a try, and you gave it almost 5 years.