We've all heard this before...

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by $lave2bmw, Jun 18, 2005.

1. I've seen it posted all over- but i must be redundant.

I am a begining trader, plan to put $30k to start in a tradestation account. I have a series 63, 7, soon to be 65 license so im not that new. Ive read most of the important books and totally feel good enough to not lose a ton of money. I have a good conservative strategy, mostly aimed at preservation.

My question is: is it realistic for someone starting off to see about a $200 a day avg profit on $30k? I plan to trade approx 3 stocks a day at the same time to avg p/l. Must every beginer strike out?

TIA!

2. jsmith

jsmith

$200 * 20 = $4000 per month
    4000 / 30000 = .1333 = 13% per month

I do not believe that goal is possible for a new trader with 30k.

3. I don't want to sound negative but if you are just starting out, reglardless of what license you have, it should take atleast 2 yrs. to be consistently profitable. It's the type of business where I honestly don't think you can be a great trader without being a horrendus trader at the beginning. I had a terrible start but stuck with it and am now doing very well, on the other hand I have friends who started in '98 and made huge and I mean huge amounts of money, and then the markets changed and weren't so generous, yet the traders refused to admit anything had changed and all the money they made, plus some, no longer belongs to them.

Just my experience

4. It's certainly realistic from your capital's point of view, you have 30K account - that's 120K buying power - 2000 shares of $60 stock. If it moves 10 cents in your favor - you made your daily numbers.

But unfortunately it's very unrealistic for a new trader with no trading experience. Even if you had a million you're likely going to be losing money for quite some time before you start making money.