went from 39% to 450% return, looking for prop firm

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by mitwave, Jul 4, 2010.

1. mitwave

mitwave

I am an engineer who started educating myself in the market in 2002. I realized that the market is like horse racing. In 2005 I started trading part time until last week. I finally decided quit my job and trade full time. In 2005 I made 39%, 2006 =110%, 2007 = 145%, 2008 = 220%, 2009 = 450%. My strategy holds no overnight positions. I have talked to a few prop firms, but once you Google them they either have a bad reputation or you have to trade with their strategy or they are trying to charge thousands to teach trading. If there are any traders out that are happy with their prop firm please email me or post it, so I can get the details. I am not licensed. I thank you very much.

2. Do Prop firms invest with profitable traders?. I mean do prop firms provide capital/money for trading.

3. With returns like that, why not just trade for yourself. Im sure you would get up to a sizeable account pretty quickly. It may take a little more time, shouldnt be that long with those kinds of returns though. Just my opinion.

4. Assuming you started with a small $5k trading account, you should have over $600k if you generated those kind of returns. Whatever you were doing, dont change it. You should've stuck to trading part time, kept those returns going and retired in a few more years. Now you will spend too much time on the market, overanalyze, make bad trades, and blow your account.

Reminds me of the football player that doesnt wash his lucky socks and his team wins every game, then as they go to superbowl, he washes the socks right before the game. Why you want to mess with a good thing? Everyone knows greed kills in this industry.

5. gaj

gaj

how could you be up 450% in 2009 when you were stumbling in the market?

http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&postid=2673201#post2673201