Weekly option strategy...?

Discussion in 'Options' started by msd87, Sep 3, 2011.

1. msd87

msd87

Wanted some insight from some of you more experienced option traders, as I'm relatively new to options, on a strategy I plan to begin implementing. The strategy is basic, only using covered calls and cash secured puts on weekly options contracts. Basically my goal is to sell cash secured puts slightly out of the money to hopefully keep the premiums each week... In the event of assignment, I intend to hold the stock and then proceed to sell slightly out of the money covered calls... Once assigned go back to selling the puts again then calls, etc... The stocks I will use for this strategy will have a high beta (more time value), and have a decent dividend. Any body have any insight on this? When I first got into options I lost a lot of money on speculative long calls and puts...

2. joneog

joneog

You basically have a continuous put selling strategy. If you get assigned on the short-put and then sell a covered call you essentially have another short-put position. Is that the strategy you want in this market?

The dividends of the underlying are factored into the option prices.

Selling puts that you're willing to get assigned on should be more of a special situation play (with a longer-term outlook on the underlying) than a long-term strategy IMO.

3. spindr0

spindr0

Higher beta stocks tend to move around more than the market so their options tend to have higher implied volatility and therefore. higher premiums. The flip side of that higher premium is that they're more likely to move ITM or OTM.

The success of your strategy will depend on your ability to pick stocks that don't go down. Think 2007-2009 and ask yoursellf if you'd want to own stocks when the DJIA halved (or similarly, the NAZ in 2000). That's the worst case scenario.