WebTrader's 2014 Journal

Discussion in 'Journals' started by WebTrader, Mar 9, 2014.

1. It has been a while since I traded full time, and after a very long break from the stock market (of 5+ years), I placed my first trade on 2/26/2014. I am quite rusty, so I though that posting screen shots of all my trades and portfolio holdings will help my discipline and learning (the day I stop learning is the day I die). While my main experience is in trading stocks and ES futures, I am going to incorporate option trading strategies this year. I am far from an expert in options and I am not going to pretend I have a full understanding of the Greeks, butterflies and iron condors, lol. However, more often than not I can predict price movements with great accuracy. Hopefully, I will choose the "right" option strategy.

I have an account with IB that had about 135K when I started on 2/26/2014.

My current open positions are:

Long 10,000 FNMA
    Long 15 PLUG March 21/2014 Bull Call Spread $6/$8

I treat the FNMA position as a call option without expiration and no strike price. I plan on holding on to it for as long as I can. I believe this can be a 10-15 bagger. I see the probability of at least a double greater than 70%. I see the probability of a 5 bagger at 42%. I see the probability of a 10 bagger at 27%. I see the probability of a 15 bagger at 14%.

I am a very busy man that runs a businesses, and I also volunteer approximately 250 hours per year (six hours per week). Therefore, I will not be able to trade full time or answer all the questions in a timely manner. I apologize in advance.

I have three goals for 2014

1. Trade wisely
    2. Average 5% per month return
    3. Always follow number 1!

Rules:

Max option position should not be more 3.5% of account value for spreads, and 1.25% of account value for calls or puts.

Excluding ETF and FNMA, stock positions shall not exceed 13.5% of account value.