ways to correctly recognize pullback/reversal

Discussion in 'Trading' started by trader198, Sep 19, 2012.

1. I am a trend trader in daily chart. each time when I see intraday up, I view the market is going up. or vice visa. that caused me trouble.

I know some guys use divergence indicators to judge reversal/pullback.

take an example, GLD (gold), I see it is trending up in daily chart. fundementally FOMC's bond buying QE3 will push it higher.

like yesterday, I saw it dropped in the pre-market, kind of thinking it will correct. sold some CDE in the low (or support), also EGO. late prove it is just a little dip pullback to add more for longs, while a trap for short selles.

most guys like to buy pullback in an uptrend, leg up, then buy in the little dip. I feel I can not do this, I feel the trend is revesing. it really baffled me.

actually I am thinking buying SPY in the dip, or in the pullback range, when I saw GLD dropped, I started to sell, while not buy.

I feel when I have an view about the market, it is not easy for me to shift toward opposite view. actually I realized this mistake, I should sell my puts and buy some calls, but I just freeze.

2. danielc1

danielc1

You are over thinking it... Just use two averages to determine to buy a pullback or not...

• spy.png
      File size:
      12.1 KB
      Views:
  3. 1) You may need to shorten your time horizon from daily to intra-day. :cool:
    2) Try to focus on the breakout from a congestion range in the time frame you're trading instead of being predisposed to one side of the market over the other. :cool: :cool:
    3) You may need to trade a market whose volatility more closely matches your temperament. :cool: :cool: :cool:

4. NoDoji

NoDoji