Wash sales

Discussion in 'Taxes and Accounting' started by invortex, Dec 9, 2017.

1. invortex

invortex

I am new in this. So bear with me. If I only follow a few stocks and keep trading in and out of them, like so many traders do, then many losses are deemed wash sales? How do others do this? Thanks in advace

2. Overnight

Overnight

Yes. Gotta' wait 30 days to avoid the wash-sale washout. IRS can go suck an egg.

3. invortex

invortex

Thank you for your response.

Then how do you just follow a few stocks and trade in and out of them? I mean if I had to wait 31 days between trades, then I wouldn't be able to use this strategy. How do others do it?

OR maybe there is no strategy like this? I thought for sure there are some traders who only trade a few stocks.

4. Overnight

Overnight

I don't trade stocks, I only know the basics of wash-sale rules. I think the sell and repurchase has to be in the same stock for the wash to occur. Maybe ask in the taxes/accounting section for a faster response.

5. comagnum

comagnum

How to Avoid Wash Sales
    As an active trader, you may not be able to avoid each and every wash sale that may come along due to the fact that you are in and out of trades frequently and some losses are inevitable. Yet, you really don't have to worry too much about the net effect of wash sales until year end.

Here are three simple rules to keep in mind that can greatly reduce your risk of having some or all of your losses disallowed for the current tax year and deferred to a later tax year:

• If you take losses in December, don't buy back the same stock for 31 days.
      If you take losses in any stock in December, be sure NOT to repurchase the same stock (or an option on that stock) for a period of 31 days. If you do, your losses will be deferred to a later tax year. You won't permanently lose the loss, it will just move forward and you will have a greater tax consequence in the current year.