Wash Sale question

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by nravo, Oct 24, 2008.

  1. nravo


    Ok, I understand the IRS has ruled that you cannot take losses and immediately buy the same instrument in an IRA. if you do you lose the loss in the taxable account. You have to wait 30 days. (If I'm wrong, let me know.)

    That said: What if I take a loss in my taxable account and immediately in my IRA write a cash-covered ATM put that will expire in more than 30 days? Can I keep the loss in my taxable account? I know I can't just buy a call. But what about writing a put?
  2. If it's on the same underlying it still counts towards wash-rule