Was trade execution illegal or just unethical?

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by Huron678, May 25, 2012.

1. Huron678

Huron678

I'm no expert but I was under the impression a limit order becomes a market order once the limit price is reached.

A stock I owned closed the afternoon at 0.75. I placed an after-hours limit order at .65 (probably should have been a stop limit order). There was no movement in the stock price after hours or in the morning until the stock opened at 9:45am at 0.75 the same price where it had closed the afternoon before.
    However, my limit order executed at 8am for 0.65 more than 10% below where it was trading. Broker claims they have the wiggle room with a limit order to get away with that. I agree it should have been a stop-limit order instead but to trade it 10% below seems unconscionable, unethical and possibly illegal. I wish I had some recourse.

Thoughts on this?

2. hajimow

hajimow

Your first statement is not true. A limit order never becomes a market order. It only gets executed at the limit price when the price reaches there.
    1- who is your broker?
    2- when did you put your order? AH the day before or the morning that got executed?
    3- There is no stop limit AH.
    4- The broker's statement that they have wiggle room does not make sense.
    5- Was it only your order that got executed before 9:30? any more trades at that price?

3. hajimow

hajimow

4. Surdo

Surdo

1)What stock, and I will look @ the quotes/T&S?
    2)What date was it executed?
    3)I assume it is a sell, since you did not specify?
    4)Who is your broker/what platform are you using?

5. Sounds like you placed a stop loss order.

The spread was probably a little wider that morning and your order price was hit and then executed as a market order.

6. Bob111

Bob111

legal. unethical? there is no such word in this business.