Was this a Glass half empty day ... after a while ?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by putsncalls, Nov 3, 2006.

1. Do any of you wizards think today was the first glass half empty day in a while. Help a newbie here trying to play with sharp objects ;). A few questions here...

--Market sold off (at least in terms of the ad line) in light of good numbers. Would you look at it in terms of confirmation of a sentiment reversal ?

--I see S&P closed a just a wee bit below the trend line which was holding up pretty well since late July . Any convictions here ?

--Do you think the Hedge funds will start piling on short positions trying to make up for missing the Jul-Oct rally ?

-- Do you think the move in Gold has something to do with the 3 US carrier groups (and a fourth heading that way) off the coast of Iran since a week now ? So far Oils / currencies/ equities been ignoring that totally. Probably just my paranoia...;)

thanks for anything useful ...

2. The numbers weren't good today. The number of jobs increased less than expected meaning slower growth, and wages increased more than expected, meaning higher inflation.

IOW, if numbers continue to come in like this (including the ISM index the other day) we have a situation of dramatically slowing growth coupled with increasing inflation. That spells "hard landing". I'm surprised we didn't selloff more than this today. It is evidence as to the lingering bullish undertone.

One thing people fail to notice too is that the FED raising rates actually has the ability, maybe even a likelihood, to increase inflation before it deters growth enough to slow inflation.

3. I understand what you are saying. Don't agree with all of it though.

Look at the higher open. The revisions were pretty massive...I think the number were good (maybe too good) . So did the bond market . I think people also got suspicious of the two back to back huge revisions...especially in light of the election next week.