Want to get started

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by trekracer, Jan 8, 2007.

1. trekracer

trekracer

Hi Guys,

First off, I am new here, and Im not quite sure how the forum works, but I tried posting this thread earlier and I dont think it worked, but if it does come up soon, ignore this one:D . Anyway, I am interested in getting started very actively trading. I currently have a stock account for long term gains, but it would be good to have one that mabye grows a little faster, and I think trading would make a good hobby(obsession:D ). Anyway, about my self...my name is Jake, I am currently a high school student. I do a good bit of stock market research, so I know a decent bit about investing. My question is, where should I look to get started in day trading? I will be able to open an account with around $1000(I guess thats not very much in most forum members eyes), but then I am not trying to make a million dollars by next year, but it would be nice to support my other passion, bicycle racing. Any help and guidance would be great!

Thanks,
    Jake

2. You are too young to day trade.

3. trekracer

trekracer

ok, I didnt mean exactly day trading, but just being active trading.

4. Jake, thanks for the sell-signal.

5. trekracer

trekracer

sorry, what?

6. if you want to make a little foray into the markets and not lose much, get your hands on $5000 (i don't know what you can do with 1k), buy 1 NQ (nasdaq) future, and leave it alone. Don't even watch it. Forget when it goes down 50 pts.

Just come back to it in 1 year. You'll easily make $2k on that one contract over the course of a few months. (100 pts)

To make money trading, most people here consider even $50k too little to actively work with. And for those that don't have any experience, the cost of entry is higher (sorry, but you can't paper trade your way out of making no mistakes. real money works differently).