Wall Street or Main Street

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Htrader, Jan 19, 2003.

1. Htrader

Htrader Guest

I've got a big career decision to make soon and I want to ask the opinion of the board on the subject.

Currently I'm a college senior and I've been actively daytrading for several years now. This past summer I worked as an intern in the Sales and Trading division of a major investment bank and I've got an outstanding offer to join the analyst class.

If I take the offer, I'll do two years as an analyst, then promotion to associate, which will probably last for 2 more years, and then onto vice president. Assuming I do spectacular at the bank, I could make director level in seven years, this is my most optimistic estimate.

The above choice is by all means the safest and the logical choice. On the other hand, I didn't particularly enjoy my summer living in New York and the people at the bank were OK, but nothing great.

Instead of taking the offer, I could just daytrade on my own. I trade both equities and futures and my numbers are:
    2000: 25k
    2001: 75k
    2002: 500k
    2003: 33k (YTD)

I've very confident in my own ability to continue my success and its what I want to do. I love trading and perhaps even more I love the freedom I would get. No getting up at 5:30am in the morning to take the subway to work, and I would be able to live almost anywhere I want. I've been considering maybe setting up my own hedge fund in a few years, but thats still a long ways away.

The risk of course is that I blow out, and lose a great opportunity to make it in wall street. But I also realize that if I take the job, then more than likely I won't ever trade for my own again. Thats because I'll have too much invested in my career. Best choice in that case would be to eventually hop over to a hedge fund. Any opinions?

2. Monsoon

Monsoon

i want to change my vote to daytrade....
    freedom is the most important aspect to life..
    500k is nothing to ignore