Wall Street: Money Walks

Discussion in 'Trading' started by MoneyWalks, Nov 30, 2010.

1. Hello fellow traders, the main purpose of this thread I intend to be is to have a look on Jesse Livermore character's one of the most highly regarded stock trader.

I'm a full time trader in forex market, mainly I'm a swing and position trader but scalping in between whenever opportunity arise.

CHAPTER I (extrat from page 8)

" I had put out my 3509 shares of Sugar at 105-1/4. There was another fellow in the room, Henry Williams, who was short 2500 shares. I used to sit by the ticker and call out the quotations for the board boy. The price behaved as I thought it would. It promptly went down a couple of points and paused a little to get its breath before taking another dip. The general market was pretty soft and everything looked promising. Then all of a sudden I didn't like the way Sugar was doing its hesitating. I began to feel uncomfortable. I thought I ought to get out of the market. Then it sold at 103 that was low for the day but instead of feeling more confident I felt more uncertain. I knew something was wrong somewhere, but I couldn't spot it exactly. But if something was coming and I didn't know where from, I couldn't be on my guard against it. That being the case I'd better be out of the market.

You know, I don't do things blindly. I don't like to. I never did. Even as a kid I had to know why I should do certain things. But this time I had no definite reason to give to myself, and yet I was so uncomfortable that I couldn't stand it. I called to a fellow I knew, Dave Wyman, and said to him : "Dave, you take my place here. I want you to do something for me. Wait a little before you call out the next price of Sugar, will you?"