Waiting for the BEST trade

Discussion in 'Trading' started by tradersaavy, Mar 9, 2003.

1. Waiting for the BEST trade is an opinion that seems to be a very common insight from those who seem to have ben "at it" for some time trading as a suggestion to newbies and just a matter of fact for veterans. I myself am somewhat of a newbie and do understand the meaning of patience. Not that I practice it fully yet but do understand its impact. Also, I believe waiting for the "best trades with most potential" is subjective. Would love to hear feedback on YOUR best trade scenario or posting charts with detail on entry at targets and conditions would be even better. I'll start. Now, being a newbie my best scenario is not yet proven from the standpoint of me actually trading it successfully over time. However, hindsight tells me to"wait for these". They are: looking for reversals intraday on a 5m time frame where larger timeframes are hitting resistance/support. Also, looking for breakouts to new day highs/lows on a 5m chart where the previous days highs/lows are being taken out as well.

2. I took a look at your chart...

where's your price entry and price exit?

Also, what exactly do you mean your looking for breakouts...is there more to that trade setup your talking about...such as specific rules?

In addition...there's lots of threads with the info you seek about traders sharing their best or favorite trade setup:

Try looking in the Journal Threads

http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=29

Technical Analysis Threads

http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=33

Lots of traders posting their best trade setups with criteria and charts.

Also...there are some threads with traders posting their best or favorite trade setups...criteria and charts...but some of them are now closed.

Why?

First of all, these are tough trading times for many traders...the change in ET character...reflects such...as expected.