VSA and Wyckoff opinions

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by Jfranco_2003, Jul 16, 2019.

1. I'm learning about VSA and Wyckoff trading methology. But can more experienced people and experts about this topic can give me their opinion about this methods?

I'm not using the VSA tradeguider software, I'm only reading books and trading with this information.

Thank you.

2. tiddlywinks

tiddlywinks

I have studied VSA, Wykoff, and most of the other known(to me) volume-based methods.
    I use volume extensively in my trading. I am a FT independent futures trader.

Volume et al, as a thing, is like frog legs... if someone likes chicken they order chicken.
    Additionally, VSA, Wykoff, etc arrive to the unlearned/untrained palate as "dated" concoctions.

The lack of response or even negative response from general ET population should be expected... Conventional wisdom is alive and well within.

A more specific question may attract more depth.

3. What is the best volume method for you?

4. tiddlywinks

tiddlywinks

A knowledge-base of methods that "fit" the trader allows for the most appropriate development of a traders method (or methods). As I mentioned, I use volume extensively. That does not mean exclusively. You will find very few, if any, true traders that use a method (volume or not) defined in a book or workshop without modifications or customization of their own... They roll their own manual and/or automated method.

For instance, the biggest take-away from VSA (for me) was bar-by-bar analysis. From Wykoff, association with the concept of Accumulation and Distribution. From Market Profile, naked point of control (POC), From volume by price, simple support and resistance. And of course, since I studied various methods, the volume specific understandings that came through study as well.