Volatility Trade

Discussion in 'Options' started by CrimsonTyde, Mar 22, 2004.

1. I'd like to know your thoughts on the proper way to trade volatility. For example, I was taking a look at VXGN and was wondering what would be the best strategy to implement in order to capture an expected rise in volatility?

IV is currently around 73 and lets say I expect volatility to increase to 90. Is a straddle the best strategy? How about a strangle? Should you ensure you're delta neutral? What is absolute critical in this trade? What makes this a good or bad trade? I'm not interested in playing this one, only wanted to use it as an example.

I know I'm new at this greek thing, but I'm trying to learn. Many thanks for your input.

2. Aaron

Aaron

Did you know that on Friday the VIX futures contract will start trading? You'll be able to make a straightforward bet on overall market volatility.

For VXGN volatility specifically, you might want to go long a long-dated, delta neutral straddle. You buy both a call and a put. All else being equal, the options will increase in value as the implied volatility increases. You want to buy both the call and the put to offset your exposure to rising or falling prices — you want to be delta neutral. And then you want to by long-dated options (ones that don't expire for several months) to minimize the time decay in the value of your options.

Let us know how it works out and good luck!

3. Koppanyi

Koppanyi

I read the best time to purchase straddles and strangles is when implied volatility of the options is low. IV tells the trader if premiums are low (cheap) or high (expensive).
    My question is how (or where) we can compare the current implied volatility and the stock’s historical volatility to determine if implied volatility is high or low.

Thanks for your help

4. sabotage

sabotage