Volatility Model

Discussion in 'Options' started by Mike805, May 10, 2007.

1. This a thread intended to help my self as well as others understand the nature of volatility modeling.

Disclaimers:
    1. I am not an expert; my knowledge of options trading is intermediate at best. However, I do have a very strong mathematical finance background and would like to hear about some practical applications for a "good" volatility model.

2. I trade futures and stocks profitably (a rare directional option trade here and there) and I want to become better educated in options trading.

So, in hopes of combining some practical experience from the option traders here with some decent mathematical models, lets have a discussion.

I ask a few general (possibly stupid, so bear with me) questions.

1. What do market makers currently used as an "industry standard" to forecast volatility? Is it a GARCH - like form? Is it silly to assume an option market maker uses something other than a history of implied vola?

2. Other than mean-reversion and clustering, the two dominant ideas in many of the vola forecasting models I've seen, what other features does one include in analysing vola?

That's it for now. Later I would like to discuss some of the vola models I have been working on and a possible trading application for a good vola model (i.e. vola arb).

Thanks,

Mike

2. opt789

opt789