VIX Options question.

Discussion in 'Options' started by JJacksET4, Jun 26, 2007.

1. Hi all,

First of all, I wanted to say that I am new to EliteTrader, having read alot of the posts however, but never posting here before.

I used to post and read on the Yahoo board and I remember OptionsCoach, Spin and a few others.

My general trading style is to be long options, but I will sell sometimes as well, mainly either doing credit spreads or calendars.

Anyways, I wanted to ask a question about the VIX options. I have read a bit about them and understand they are different then normal stock options in that they are cash based and they expire on different days, etc, but I was testing a calendar on the OptionsXpress Trade Calc page and noticed that even for a normal debit calendar spread, it shows options requirements higher then the cost.

For example using todays pricing:

Sell 10 July 19 Calls - -$700
    Buy 10 Aug 19 Calls + $1150
    Total Cost = $450 - I believe this is also the max risk, and the chart they show would seem to imply this as well.

However, "Option Requirements" says $5,313 for "Total Requirments" of $5,763.

Even if VIX isn't quite a standard option, why would there be such requirements when the loss cannot be that large?

BTW - This is not a trade I plan to do, but an example of what I saw.

Do VIX call calendar spreads really require this amount of margin, or could this just be a mistake by the Trade Calc program or what do you think? Would all brokers require that much margin for that trade?

Thanks in advance.

Jim J.
    The O.C., CA

2. A long calendar spread in any of the vix derivs is not a defined risk position. You could lose substantially more than the debit you paid.

Do a search on backwardation.

3. Correct. Then you'll be forced to use the curr exch to cash checks.

{Inside joke}

4. OK guys, thanks for the links and comments. I think I get the jist of it, but I will read in more detail later.