Visualizing Large Data Sets

Discussion in 'Trading' started by kmiklas, Jul 29, 2021.

1. kmiklas

kmiklas

Brethren:

Any recommendations on how to visualize and manipulate large (100,000 + points per set) data sets? I feel like this is beyond Excel.

Is there any software out there with the horsepower to handle this volume of data?

Thanks, and have a profitable day.
    -- Keith XD

Last edited: Jul 29, 2021
  2. 2rosy

2rosy

3. tiddlywinks

tiddlywinks

4. Tableau

5. sef88

sef88

Python

Snarkhund likes this.
  6. Atikon

Atikon

Aren't you a programmer? Why do you ask for this 5 cent advise in this forum? Matplotlib, seaborn and bokeh should come to mind

7. kmiklas

kmiklas

1. I am a programmer. What does that have to do with knowing the data visualization market?
    2. As a programmer I can build something like this, but it's a lot of work, so I'm hoping to use 3rd party stuff.
    3. This forum's advice is at least 10 cent; perhaps even 25.
    4. I'm hoping for something really slick. I'm hoping that when I CTRL-scroll it will conflate and/or deconstruct data into candlesticks that make sense
    5. Thank you for the recommendations
    6. I feel like I'm going to end up building something custom anyway

8. kmiklas

kmiklas

9. rb7

rb7

Seems very cool.
    If you want to entertain yourself that's probably a good way to do it.
    But if you want to make money from the market...I don't know.
    And btw, Excel can support up to 1,000,000 rows. So 100,000 shouldn't be a problem.

kmiklas likes this.
  10. I know that my recommendation may seem hard but I would advise you to learn data visualisation with python and matplotlib.