Very short-term intra-day strategies?

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by noahlh, Nov 21, 2002.

1. noahlh

noahlh

Hey everyone ... I'm a newbie to the boards here, but have been lurking for a while during my "get acquainted with trading" phase...

I started off doing some discretionary stuff, but have decided that it's too hit-or-miss for me right now and that I'll do better with a set automated strategy. That, and I'm a big nerd and like the idea of hacking together eSignal, IB, Wealth-Lab, Dynaorder, etc.

I'm extremely interested in developing some automated strategies for very short-term intra-day equities trading (i.e. using 15-second, 30-second, and 1-minute bars) on active (i.e. news) stocks.

Does anyone have any good starting points/suggestions as far as a direction to take strategy-wise? What type of strategies are good / what should I avoid / what will i waste time with / etc. Again, I'm interested in pure short-term daytrading systems, and I have no intention / desire to hold positions overnight (or, generally, for more than 30 minutes, if that)

I have a few ideas that I'm in the process of coding up in Wealth-Lab (I'm comfortable programming, and I think that's a great tool to work with) and as soon as that's done, I'll report and get feedback here, but I wanted to see if anyone had any pointers first.

Thanks!

--Noah

2. How will you execute?

3. When you speak of 15 sec and 30 sec bars then you want to scalp. If you are looking to scalp, using a momentum indicator set very fast will be a good start. Websites such as clearstation.com and stockcharts.com provide good discussions about momentum indicators.

Warning: you will hear that all indicators lag. They do to the extent that they measure what has happened. However, human behavior being what it is, repeats in such a way that it is fairly quantifiable at least for the time frame you desire to look at.

:)

4. cheeks

cheeks