VBA for Excel and Access - Book Recommendations?

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by mmm, Mar 23, 2004.

1. mmm

mmm

Hello,

I'm looking for book recommendations on VBA for Excal and for Access.

What I am aiming to do is have Access store my price data, and apply Excel's analysis and charting tools on this data.

I'm familiar with programming in C, Pascal, and Basic, but am a bit rusty as it has been many years since I last wrote a complex program.

Any suggestions as to good books to help me climb the VBA learning curve?

I've browsed through the prior ET threads and came up with "VB and VBA in a Nutshell" by Paul Lomax.

Any others?

Thanks.

-- MMM

2. I had the same question (in another thread).

Looking on amazon, i see books about financial modeling using excel. Just wondering if anyone has seen / read this book?
    Excel and VBA may come in handy, and they are a whole lot quicker then C++ (my current language for app design).
    (I am new to VBA and excel, so an "entry level" book is required).

3. Hi mmm,

You probably don't have much experience with Access yet. Get it and get any of the Microsoft books on "Programming Access". As VB is nicely integrated with the Access package, you should be going like a breeze. You'll find many examples. I would say don't look any further before you're knowing what you're doing. In fact, it may very well be that you won't want to go to Excel anymore but program the things you want to do straight into Access linked VB.

Next, if you want to bring in Excel, this shouldn't be difficult anymore. I thing the elementary Access Programming books will give you already some information about interfacing with Excel.

Be good,

nononsense

4. Bob111

Bob111

you can find lot's of info on web today free of charge. many websites and forums dedicated to those things. if you search deep enough, you can find ebooks about it too, also for free.

5. Hi amigasearch,