Van Tharp's Position Sizing Game

Discussion in 'Risk Management' started by L943973, Sep 27, 2022.

1. L943973

L943973

For anyone interested, Van Tharp has a position sizing game that you can use to test your risk management. There are I think 10 levels and the first 3 are free. The goal is to make 50% by 75 trades. They provide the parameters on the strategy and you manage the risk.

Position Sizing Game, a Profit Trainer Tool - Van Tharp Institute

I only did the first 3 levels. Not sure if I want to pay for the rest.

Statistical Trader likes this.
  2. L943973

L943973

You start with 10k at Level 1 and work with that.

Since it was just a game, drawdowns be dammed, I just maxed out the risk at 4% per trade.
    (Kept all the trades and balances on a spreadsheet)

Finished level 1 at 23k.
    Started level 2 at 23k and finished up at 39k
    Started level 3 at 39k but by trade 40, the game halted me saying I was too lucky because I was already at 233k. Never got to finish that level.

What I did learn from this is that if you risk only 0.5%, then you'll never get the big returns you are expecting. Even the game will prompt you if your risk is too low. Your basically treading water with such a low risk tolerance

3. Whoever said risk only .5%, or 1%, or 2% of your account on a trade...is stupid. And people who follow that general, cliche, common, textbook rule are stupid. That's a very scared, defensive, rule for people who don't know nothing, and are purely dumb luck gambling.

nrstrader and murray t turtle like this.
  4. Be careful with blanket statements.

The optimal amount to risk on any given trade depends (rather dramatically) on the distribution of profits and losses that underlie that strategy.

There are cases where you can make more money (not just higher risk-adjusted return) by risking less on each trade. (An example of this follows.)

There are other cases where it is best to risk more. It really depends.