Value of Smart Order routing at IB

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by WALLACE29, Nov 10, 2002.

1. WALLACE29

WALLACE29

I am new at tradeing at IB
    I would like to trade thru a full function platform. The only platforms that I could find at this time that perform these functions are Esignal and Medved QuoteTracker.
    I believe any orders executed thru these platforms can only be routed thru the IB smart order routing system.
    My question is:
    Is this the best route for trading at IB?
    I typcally trade 300 to 2000 shares, sometimes traded intraday, sometimes held overnight. I am not greedy, I am not looking for every last cent. Will the Smart order routing suit my needs?
    My past expierience was with Ameritrade. My last trade with them was with 600 shares of a $30. stock that traded at a volume of 2m shares a day. They executed that transaction at 10 cents below the bid price. I quess this is their way of the fullfilling their 10 second trade execution guarantee. When I saw this trade come across the the tape, I knew it was time to move on.
    Any opinions about the IB smart order routing system would be greatly appreciated.

2. Wallace, in my opinion, SMART will suite you just fine. I daytrade and swing trade. I never use anything but SMART (for Naz, stick to direct routing for NYSE). It's easy and quick. FYI- Stock Watch Pro is also integrated for trading for level 2 with IB. IB just announced improvements to their API to allow direct routing through these other platforms. It costs a bit more, and I'm not sure how long it will be before these software providers take advantage of these features. Having said that, I still think SMART is just fine. I constantly read threads, especially about ARCA, about all kinds of problems with direct routing. With SMART, the computer does it for you.

3. DanR

DanR

IB is ok, but if you make market orders you will always risk to be filled well away from the nbbo.