Value Investing

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Corso482, Jan 22, 2003.

1. Is it just me, or does value investing only work during a bull market? And if that's the case, there's nothing special about value investing because a monkey can make $$ in a bull market. Then again, I suppose you could make the argument that over the long haul, the stock market is one big bull market.

2. I do value investing. I've done quite well lately. We aren't in a bull market currently....

You can't loose when you buy a stock that is growing at 10% a year and trading at 3X FCF. That's value investing to me.

3. If it's that simple, why are most value mutual funds taking a bath? It seems that if one follows the value mantra, finding winners is as simple as plugging in a few requirements into a screener. I'm not saying you're wrong or it can't be done, in fact, I have no experience with value investing myself. I'm just curious if value investors usually lose in bear markets and win in bull markets. I suspect that's the case.

4. Corso- It's the result of not following one's own methodology. Many failed value investors fall for "value traps" or stray into growth areas etc. Also, sometimes, next year's cash flow is unpredictible, or there are factors that aren't considered. When a stock is very cheap, there's usually a reason. You must decide if that reason is not insurmountable. That's the main question. Anyone can scan for cheap stocks.

5. So if the true skill isn't in finding cheap companies, but deciding whether their cheapness is do to an insurmountable problem, then the process is highly subjective, and therefore you CAN lose.

But thanks for getting to the heart of the matter. Every time I hear value investors speak, they always say 'you can't lose.' And they cite how much cash the company has on its books yada yada. I'm trying to reconcile that logic with the fact that most value funds are in intensive care. Like I said, maybe they'll get the last laugh in the long run.