Using a stock advisory service.

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Raptornate, Sep 18, 2006.

1. I’m new to stock trading and wanted to pick your brains abit about stock advisory services. About six weeks ago, I opened an account with Ameritrade.com. I deposited 4,500 dollars just to get the feel of how things work. My plan is to put a lot more in if things go well (I sold a rental house and came away with a good profit). I also signed up with a stock advisory service. I don’t have the lingo down yet, but I’ve made 8 trades and only held onto them for 2 or 3 days. Every trade I placed was recommended by the service. Each trade gained between 1.5 and 3.5 percent within 1 to 3 days. These results were almost exactly what they had anticipated. I thought these were good profits. Actually, they were a lot better then I expected. I completely understand that I could lose as well. I actually opened the account planning on losing some money while I learned the ropes. But I haven’t lost a dime yet (I know its early) and I’m kicking myself in the butt for not depositing more. I just don’t feel comfortable yet.

My question is, do you guys use these services? I know there are hundreds of them. If you do, are these results typical? Or is a bad around the corner and its going to just the opposite? I’m very surprised at how little I know and how well (I think) I’m doing. Any incite would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance….

2. jtnet

jtnet

starting out making better than expected money in the markets in your first trades is probably the worst thing.

3. The "winners" take care of themselves. I'd worry more what to do with the losers. Where do you get out, what percentage loss, percent of capital used, etc, etc.

4. Raptor-

Keep in mind that it's not your winning percentage that will make you money(although that won't hurt lol), it's your money management that will ultimately make or break you.