University graduate becoming a trader

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by oliverhenriquez, Jul 16, 2007.

1. Hi I'm new to this portal! I live in Sydney and am straight out of university, so I have never traded; all I know is the theory my professors taught me about derivatives. It seems very interesting and exciting, but my friend tried to talk me out of it, he sounded really negative about it - which I disliked. I sincerely want to give a go I somehow have a good feeling about it...

I have landed an interview with a proprietary futures trading firm. They are offering the following:

"You will initially be trained via a mixture of classroom and simulator based trading. You will then be placed on a live market whilst being monitored and guided by an experienced mentor. During this 6 month training period you will be given $1,000 per month to help you cover your personal expenses.

Upon successful completion of the training course you will be offered your own account to trade. This account will be funded by [the company] and your income will be generated by the profits you make trading."

1. I haven't seen any others. Is this a standard offer?

2. On average, what do earnings range from for traders following the training period?

3. Do you have any other advice, about trading, options or issues in general, understanding my situation.

I appreciate your help...

2. 1. Nonstandard offer

2. Don't expect to make any money during the training period. Live off that 1000 a month and stretch it as far as you can.

3. Theory is NOTHING like practice. In trading, theory usually does not work otherwise all academics would be pulling in the dough.

Good luck, and try to keep an open mind.

3. What do you mean it is a nonstandard offer, are there better options out there?

I have been a student for the past three years so I guess another 6 months on $1000 each ain't so bad, cut back on spending.