understanding the credit crisis

Discussion in 'Economics' started by drcha, May 8, 2009.

1. drcha

drcha

I would really like to understand better what the hell has happened. I mean, I get the securitized loans and ridiculous amount of leverage stuff, but I want to really see the big picture. I don't totally understand the rock and roll in the world macroeconomics situation, how Lehman dragged everything down, how a money market fund broke a dollar, why AIG was so critical, what the impact/importance of the actions of various central banks so far has been, etc.

So please suggest a book or paper for me to read. I'm up for something reasonably scholarly--not a superficial or politically motivated treatment of the subject. I'm not an economist, but did take a year of econ in college, and I am a mathematician and have been investing in and studying the stock and options markets for a long time.

One person suggested Galbraith's book on the Great Depression.

thanks

2. BVM88

BVM88

3. I think to view this as solely a credit crisis triggered by an irresponsiby or even maliciously run mortgage industry misses the greater point.

This is a crisis of a poorly evolved global trade and financial system. The mortgage mess - involving risky mortgages that morphed into securitized instruments layered upon by derivative bets - is but the kindling that started the fire. Did Japan's exports recently drop almost 50% due merely to faulty US mortgages? I think not.

The entire global architecture of trade and finance is a faulty one that too rapidly evolved after the fall of the USSR, China and India becoming more capitalistic and introducing a billion cheap workers into the global economy in the blink of an eye timeframe, the US post industrial economy morphing into a service sector, asset based economy ever greatly reliant on cheap credit to fuel a fictitous and unsustainable GDP....