Understanding Reversals

Discussion in 'Journals' started by PAAddict, Jan 8, 2018.

1. PAAddict

PAAddict

I am starting a journal with the goal of finding the nuances that diferentiate a Reversal from a continuation, in order to define what I understand by reversal and what I am looking for is the last countertrend movement before the trend turns into either a trading range (no more Higher Highs in an Uptrend, or Lower Lows in a downtrend) or a different trend (from up to down and from down to up).

I am observing the market in replay in the one minute chart and I am only going to pay attention to what happens between 8:00 am and 9:30 am in the NQ futures contract.

I am not an expert, nor want to pretend to become one overnight, I just want to start a journal in order to force myself to "post" regularly and get some feedback. If you do not think your input will contribute to my effort (i.e. Trolls), please refrain yourself from posting or else I will just add you to my ignore list.

My analysis today starts at 8:00, by then we came from a downtrend that started overnight that bounced at 6654 and prices rose rapidly on decreasing volume until they reached 6661, there was a considerable increase in volume, compared to the volume of every bar in the preceding upwave (Here I thought climax) So I started paying attention.

I went back to the left and found that around 7 am there was a small congestion and 61 was the place where traders found value, so another thing to take into consideration here.

The other thing I was paying attention to was that after the congestion resolved itself to the downside it formed a downtrend and the uptrend had not broken above te top of that trend at 63.

upload_2018-1-8_18-13-21.png

So here I had a climax on an area of importance for traders and was expecting that traders tried to find value either above or below.