UC Berkeley Senior Needs Guidance

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by CalScholar, Oct 2, 2006.

1. Hello all,

I have long been interested in a trading career and figure it's about time I started doing some research.

I will be graduating in June (3.6 GPA) and would like to start training immediately thereafter. Upon exiting college I will be broke and in debt, so an initial capital contribution requirement may be problematic (but not impossible).

My major is Political Science, which obviosusly isn't ideal for a trader. Nevertheless, I'm motivated and I have no doubt that I can succeed as a trader.

Basically, I'm looking for any advice you are willing to spare. Am I qualified to work at a good firm? Should I take any particular courses before leaving Cal? Anything would help!

Thanks in advance.

2. Trading is a no brainer activity. You have a 3.6 grade pt avg. Put it to better use. Not being negative, just hate to see someone not live up to their full potential.

There's a big world out there. Trading seems
    so limiting.

3. lets say you were drafted in the military and you were given a choice. you could go out with a fighting unit where 90% of the members were killed or you could go work in the supply depot where you could earn a comfortable living while you put in your time. which would you choose?

that is what you face in a trading career starting out "broke and in debt". 90% will fail. use your knowledge to earn a stake then consider trading later in life.

4. from a Cal grad that's worked in finance for the last decade in the Bay Area, there are quite a few hedge funds in the area, try to get involved with one..particularly one which will sponsor you for the cfa. Don't worry about salary or your job description. Like another poster said, trading your own capital will always be there..and trust me, SF is way more fun when you when you work at a fund and not as a daytrader.

Go Bears.