TWS Problems

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by rough00riders, May 7, 2009.

1. I am new to Interactive Brokers and have been having a lot of problems with its TWS platform (both web-based and standalone). It will slow down after a couple of hours and then it would just freeze. I would have to use the Task Manager to shut the program down. This continues to be a problem despite trying a number of things, including uninstalling and reinstalling Java and TWS, recreating a new profile, increasing the memory allocated to TWS (i.e., from 512MB to 2048MB). I've been trying to get Technical Assistance to help me, but nothing has worked to solve this problem.

Another problem that I have been experiencing is the long delays in creating a new chart...it has taken as long as 2-3 minutes for it to load the data.

I don't know if anyone else has encountered either of these two problems, but any comments or suggestions would greatly be appreciated.

2. ITR2744

ITR2744

Don't use TWS for serious charting! Have a look at www.quotetracker.com, been uusing it for several years already!

3. spindr0

spindr0

I had similar problems with IB when I was using a puter with 1 MB of memory. The more web sites I went to and applications opened during the day, the slower it got. Eventually it would lock up and only a hard boot would get me back up.

I also found that upgrades often caused new problems and since I have 2 computers for trading, updates are done on my back up and used for awhile before updating on my primary.

And last of all, you have to make sure that it isn't your ISP. One time there was an area problem with mine and I chewed IB's ear about it and it wasn't their fault. At least I was polite while wasting their time :)

4. Bob111

Bob111

1MB? :D

to OP-can you give us your PC spec? OS,CPU,RAM