two CPU's?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by biologymajor, Aug 1, 2006.

1. Why would a trader require 2 CPU's in their computer? I hear that some traders have two CPU's in their one computer? Why?

2. I'm no expert in computers but the dual core computers are faster than computers with a single CPU. The new Intel Core 2 Duo CPU's are really flying.

I am upgrading to a Core 2 Duo computer (if they ever hit the market) and all I do is trade. No gaming. When I try to start a second stock program on my computer it slows to a crawl and often locks-up. I feel like my computer is telling me: "You want me to do what?! Hey, I'm having my coffee and donuts right now. I'll open your program when I get around to it. You just hold your shirt on, buster!" Nothing is more irritating than to have to shut down everything and restart to get back what peddly RAM I had in the first place and iron out whatever kinks the programs created.

I am going with a faster computer next time. When you trade for a living you can't afford to have a slow system.

-1bigsteve (o:

3. gnome

gnome

The problem you describe is almost certainly software related. Until you get that sorted out, getting a computer with more horsepower will do you little good.

4. My computer is running OK. No software problems. My stock charting programs require a minimum of 512MB of RAM and a 1.8GHz minimum CPU. My computer has 256MB of RAM with a 1.47 GHz CPU. My system is just too old for the modern software.

-1bigsteve (o:

5. DannoXYZ

DannoXYZ

A single CPU can only handle one instruction at a time and the OS has to feed it in a single stream. With dual-CPU/cores, mulitple programs can be run without the slow-down associated with multitasking (switching) between them. It can then execute two streams of instructions simultaneously. It could be two different apps, or it could be a single app that has pieces running at the same time (multi-threading).