Turtle System into Tradestation

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by J-S, Aug 30, 2002.

1. J-S

J-S

Hi everyone. I've got Tradestation 2000i and would like to programe the Turtles system in. I'm just learning the ropes with tradestation, and I am pondering how I will get the system in there.

Is it best to use easy language for this purpose? What's the best way to learn how to use it? Are there books or online resources? Has anone successfully got the Turtle system into Tradestation? Is it possible?

Thanks for any help

J-S

2. Go to this page:

http://www.wealth-lab.com/cgi-bin/WealthLab.DLL/getpage?page=ChartScriptSearch.htm

Under title search key in "turtle" and you will find 4 systems related to turtle trading. There might be more but they just might not be called ..... Turtle ....! Its not in TS code but it is for free on the website and you can do your testing and programming for free on this site. You can also test a full portfolio.

May be it helps you on your road to a good system....

Regards

3. Kymar

Kymar

I'm a do-it-yourselfer, so learned EL through a combination of the following:

1) studying books like ASK MR. EL (good info, prgramming techniques, lousy attitude IMO) and USING EL 2000 (lots of useful tips and methods);

2) studying THE EL REFERENCE GUIDE (available on-line for free);

3) studying code in TA of STOCKS AND COMM.s magazine and in add-on disks, some sold to accompany texts like STREET SMARTS (some very good, practical code there);

4) studying the code that came with the package;

5) tons of trial and error.

There are also various educational courses being offered through Tradestation directly, though I've never tried any.