Turn down job offer?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by kgr025, Jun 30, 2009.

1. kgr025

kgr025

I received an offer from a local financial advisory firm to start training to be a broker next month. It is a small fee/commission firm and contract with active managers so no active management is done in house.

I am a recent college graduate (attended college in Southern California) and now I am living at my parents rent/expense free in Northern California.

Over the last couple years I have traded on and off, nothing serious because of time dedicated to working (Scottrade stockbroker intern and Citi Smith Barney operations trade associate) and academics. While in college, I co-managed two couple hundred thousand real-money portfolio's (one for my college's endowment and the other for a CFA Society).

My situation that I would like advice on is whether or not I should take the broker position. They will license me (65,63,7) and that is great because in this job market, those licenses will help my marketability. Although I have experience at brokerage firms, I do not want to be a broker but in this job market I figure that I should give it a shot and save money so I can quit and trade. That is where the other issue comes in, if I am raising client assets, I shouldn't bail in a couple of months to trade right?

If I do not take it, I figure that since I live rent and everything else free, I could spend 100% of my time on learning to trade and develop the knowledge necessary to be successful.

Confused and in need of advise.

2. astroboy

astroboy

I was in a similar situation as you previously. Recent College Graduate in Finance. Looked endlessly for a job once I finished. Was eventually offered a broker position at a smaller firm after all that searching. At that point I could either do the following:

1) Take the safe approach and take the job; get safe stable money + continue to trade outside job hours.