TS code for next day MOO exit using 5min data

Discussion in 'Data Sets and Feeds' started by Jock, Feb 21, 2007.

1. Jock

Jock

I have been using TradeStation for several years, but have only just started testing on 5 minute data. Previously all my coding was for daily data.

I’m having a problem writing code to exit a trade at tomorrow’s open. For example the following code buys at today’s open plus 0.5 x yesterday’s true range. I then wish to exit MOO tomorrow; however this code always exits at the open of tomorrow’s “second” five minute bar rather than the first, i.e. If market opens at 9.00am the code exits at 9.05am.

Any thoughts on where I’m going astray would be much appreciated.

{Data1 is 5 minute data, Data2 is daily data.}

Vars: dATR(0), ent(0);

{Start calculations on first 5 minute bar of the day}
    If Date <> Date[1] then begin
    dATR = AvgTrueRange(1) of data2; {Yesterday’s TR}
    ent = Open + 0.5*dATR;
    end;

Buy at ent stop;

If Date <> Date[1] then ExitLong at Open;

2. The line "If Date <> Date[1] then ExitLong at Open;" only evalutes on the bar where the date has changed. This means the first bar of the new trading day. Any orders are then issued at the end of this first bar.

You may want to use time instead, like Sess1EndTime or LastCalcTime. Note that this is in 24 hour format.

Try "If Time = Sess1EndTime Then ExitLong At Open;" assuming that session time has been correctly set up in the GlobalServer if you are using GlobalServer data.

3. Jock

Jock

Thanks ChoSingKum, your suggestion works EXCEPT if the preceding day was either a holiday or a half-day, in which case the system exits "two" days later.

I'd appreciate it if you or anyone else may have any further advice on this.

4. The right way to do this, if you are using a fixed close to your sessions, such as close of stocks at 4PM EST or futures at 4:15PM EST is this:

If Time = 1600 then begin
    sell next bar at market;
    buytocover next bar at market;
    end;