Trying to understand my risk (Kelly/Sharpe/ROR/Drawdown Questions)

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by MustPlayOptions, Jun 10, 2006.

1. Hi Everyone,

This is my first post here as I’ve just recently discovered this site and I'm new to much of this so please forgive in advance any rambling or unclear statements. If I'm unclear about anything I'll try and clarify if asked. All answers/responses are greatly appreciated. The post turned out to be much longer than I thought (4 pages in Word) so will be broken up.

So I came up with a tiny little system that in backtesting over 5 years and in actual use over the last 1.5 years has been performing well. It rarely trades so it's really nothing to write home about but I'm using it to learn about systems. It's option based and designed to catch volatility using diagonal calendars that are entered based on very strict criteria. Since it's diagonal calendar option based, it brings up a couple of questions about risk. In addition to those questions I have others as well as below.

I've also been trying to read a lot about money management here and elsewhere. Before that though, I was pretty happy with my analysis of the strategy and comfortable with the risks. I had looked at risk almost strictly from a risk-of-ruin standpoint because I think drawdown is inadequate.

The reason I say this is because if you have a volatile strategy that just never happens to have several losers in a row on backtesting - you won't see a drawdown that could ruin you. The other problem I have with drawdown is that I can see how having multiple open positions might mask a large drawdown if losses coincided with simultaneous gains. With ROR the potential masking effect isn’t there. By concentrating on risk of ruin I feel you can be more assured of not losing all of your capital.

The two questions that come up are:

1) What exactly is considered “at-risk” during a trade?