Trying to Understand Charts..Pls Help.

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by Pashaz, Jan 2, 2006.

1. Pashaz

Pashaz

Hi Guys,
    I am a beginner in stock trading.I am trying to learn and apply some technical knowledge on the stock chart of HSBC (NYSE:HBC). Below, I am writing my understading of the HSBC chart and some points that I couldn't understand. Can someone pls comment on it, as to whether, I am right or wrong and correct me.

Chart link is at the end of text.

1)The Candle Stick chart is showing a down trend.
    2)Since the price is near the lower band of Bollinger Band, it suggests that the stock is getting oversold.When the price will bounce back the lower band and moves up the 20 day moving avg it will suggest a bullish trend.
    3) Trading volume is slightly more than half mark.(How should we interpret this ?)
    4)The fast(red) and slow(blue) lines lines in the MACD chart are crossing over (red crossing over blue) above the zero point (does this mean that an up trend will be starting soon?
    5) The blue line in RSI chart is between 40-50 mark, showing selling pressure.
    6) The price resistance looks like to be on 81.50 mark, can someone indicate the support mark, if it any?
    7) ROC (momentum indicator).My understanding is that if it is below the zero line, it shows that the closing price of the stock was lower than that of the previous closing price(is this interpretation correct)? I am confused with the two lines, why are there two lines red and blue. and what do they suggest?

You can write your response in-front of each explanation. Any addition to these explanations, and suggestion on what else to consider would be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

http://charts.investopedia.com/Char...ale=2&IND=VOL;MACD;RSI;ROC;&Over=BB;&MA=&EMA=