Trying to start my career as a trader

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by eusebio, Nov 20, 2006.

1. eusebio

eusebio

Hi folks! I am a engineering graduate who recently discovered that my passion lies in the field of trading. Ya, I know. Quite bizarre huh. Anyway I have been submitting my resume to various investment banks eg. UBS to get into their trading graduate programs but my efforts were fruitless. And understandably so, since I do not have any experience in finance. Anyway, I just thought maybe you guys could have a go at my resume and comment on where I could improve upon. Below is my cover letter and attached is my resume. Thanks!

I am writing to apply for an Entry-Level role in the field of Trading.

I am a Singaporean male, aged 25 and have graduated from the National University of Singapore (NUS) with a First Class Honours in Bachelor of Engineering (Electrical Engineering) this May. I am highly proficient in programming languages such as Visual Basic, C++ and Java; and in mathematical fields such as statistics and probability. In addition, I also possess a competent set of knowledge and skills in the field of economics; scoring excellent grades in financial subjects like Principle of Economics (A), Microeconomics Analysis (A) and Financial Accounting (A-). Presently, I am undertaking the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) program through self-learning to enhance my finance knowledge.

Coming from an engineering background, I have cultivated a highly-analytical mind as the course trained me to think critically and creatively. There was one occasion when I was faced with an engineering design problem that my professors were not familiar with. In the end, I solved the problem independently using my own logical thinking ability and reverse engineering skills. Typically, no student is taught any form of reverse engineering which is mostly practiced in industries.