Trying to overcome some rough spots...

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by Jack_Larkin, Jun 6, 2011.

1. I'm working for a prop firm here in Toronto and love the job but seem to have hit a wall when it comes to my trading performance.

We do intra-day trading with equities in Canada and the US. Since most of my trades are scalps, this puts a lot of emphasis on keeping a cool and level head while trading since buying and selling decisions have to happen pretty fast.

I've identified the following patterns that I'm having trouble breaking:

1) When I see action (big moves from news, or price action beyond the norm) I tend to impulse trade. This has lead to some significant gains, as well as losses. Eventually with enough experience this type of trading could be very viable but currently I'm still new to intra-day trading so I gotta stick to a set plan... somehow I keep taking the odd impulse trade though.

2) Revenge trading. This is my biggest problem.. I let frustration get the best of me and it kills my P/L

3) Proper size management. I start each day thinking I'll only up my size once I've got a little profit to play with (ie, more buffer atop my daily loss limit) and it works unless I take a lot of losses at the start of the day. Mentally, I get behind a few bucks and somehow I end up upping my size to make up for the bad start... that just compounds and makes it worse... I gotta break this habit.

4) I'm too focused on my P/L, if I take a small loss, I'll over-trade to try and recover from it.. this hurts me if I'm ahead for the day or down. I also get fixated on P/L levels.. like the first $50 or $100 P/L level for the day can be a pain to get past. If I get just over that amount and then take a small loss, I'll struggle and make bad trades trying to get back over.. often sending me down quite a bit.

Anyhow... I know this problems are common, and 'normal' for traders to experience... but normal doesn't work in the markets, so I MUST break them.