Trying to make a basic setup for scalping futures

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by Omer1235, Apr 21, 2021.

1. Omer1235

Omer1235

Hey guys,

Very glad to be on this forum.

I want to scalp futures and I'm a total noob at this point, so of course I'd like to do SIM first.

I've looked into Jigsaw, but some people here recommended X.Trader (by TradingTechnologies) over Jigsaw, although I didn't even understand the pricing structure of TT, it reads 50$ a month if you pay for transactions, but I thought the broker is the one that charges those fees...

My broker is IB, so if I choose one of them (Jigsaw or TT) do I need to connect them to IB and the execution will go through IB? And what about the data, is it supplied by Jigsaw or TT, or do I need to pay IB for that?

I know these questions are really basic, I'm just not sure how to start

Thanks in advance!

2. cafeole

cafeole

I don't have a broker at this point, so I I am using SierraChart. It is $26 a month including a delayed datafeed for futures. It has a good replay feature. It also supports IB.

3. Overnight

Overnight

Here's my advice...

Don't take advice from someone who "has no broker" and pays $26 per month for a delayed futures feed.

LCK2000 and rb7 like this.
  4. BKR88

BKR88

Ninjatrader is a good platform which can be used with IB.
    If they still require TWS to be open with Ninjatrader then it's a bit of a pain to keep both platforms open.
    Suggest starting with micro-futures (MES or MNQ). Small monthly data fee and Ninjatrader is free on SIM, I think.

Relentless likes this.
  5. cafeole

cafeole

Ninja is good for sims, but you can't do bracket orders live unless you buy the platform. It is expensive.

6. FTDK

FTDK

Take a look at Quantower as well, it can be used with IB.

7. SunTrader

SunTrader

Don't. Scalp or do sim.

8. Omer1235

Omer1235

Thanks a lot guys