Trying Scalps

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Div Poacher, Mar 20, 2003.

1. I've been doing swing trading for the last 6 months, basically breaking even for my efforts. (Maybe I'm just not patient enough to let profits accumulate.)

So, I figure, what the heck, I'm at home for the next few days, I'll try this "daytrading biz."

And.... I managed to scalp SPY profitably, 6 of 7 times. Six little profits, one moderate loss. Netted about $250 overall.

So, what was that one unprofitable trade?

It was one that I ig.. ig... ign... (C'mon! Say it!) Ignored my stop! :eek:

Oh well, lesson learned. :cool:

2. That is a good start but please be wary of what may lie ahead.

You are going to get a run of 4-5 losing trades that will affect your confidence and then judgement. You will then make adjustments that seem to work a bit but then you have a few losers then you adjust again. Then you have a few winners and a few losers so you look at an indicator and change your timeframe a bit. You have a winning streak followed by a losing streak so you try a new indicator and bring in some MA's and try multiple timeframes and ...yadda, yadda, yadda..2 years later you haven't got a clue what the f$%& is going on.

3. Cesko

Cesko

LOL

It couldn't have been said any better.

4. Yeah, after I posted that message, I made one more profitable scalp, followed by one that could have been profitable... but I waited too long.

Finally had to cover at the end of the day for a small loss. NO WAY am I gonna carry size short overnight, with the possibility of news that Saddam was in that bunker! :mad:

I can see why this gets addictive, though. Make money now. Lose money now. No waiting for weeks to see if you're wrong.

And I can have a beer while watching the screen. The workplace is not so lenient. :D

5. ROFLMAO!!!

I can't stop laughing my ass off! :D

6. Well you're right, I tried it again today and go whipsawed all over the place.