Trendiest asset classes

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by stevenpaul, Jun 18, 2009.

1. Hi Traders,

What types of securities or sectors within a given asset class do think exhibit the greatest tendency to trend? Gary Smith, in __How I Trade for a Living__ suggests that junk bonds, and funds comprising them, trend better than funds of other asset classes. "They either go straight up or straight down," he writes. Having read that, I had to ask myself if junk bonds are the trendiest avenue, or if there is something that moves with even more commitment. Smith suggests that a 2% move in junk in either direction is indicative of considerably greater movement to follow, affording an opportunity for scale-up buying à la Livermore and Darvas. Without examining the validity of that thesis, it's clear that life as a trader would be easier if all markets behaved that way. My question, thus, is what asset classes move like that: an initial nudge and we're off to the races. The choices are countless: forex (and if so, which pairs, or does it matter?), treasuries, emerging markets, the tech sector, oil, the softs? This question calls for gross generalization, I know, but if some markets are typically, or even just often trendier than most, it would be great to know about them. We already have Gary Smith's vote, so what's yours?

2. Usually, an instrument that trends on a regular basis, does so for several reasons which may not be apparent to "outsiders".

1. The commission to trade it is very expensive.
    2. Exchange/clearing fees are very high.
    3. Spreads are very wide.
    4. The technology used by some participants is very slow.
    5. Government taxes on each trade.
    6. Low volume/liquidity.
    7. The exchange/govnmt rules mandate a certain "order" in price.
    8. Sometimes shorting may not be allowed.

Any 1 or 2 of the above is often enough to have a "trendy" instrument.