Trend Following

Discussion in 'Trading' started by mjt, Apr 7, 2001.

1. mjt

mjt

I hear a lot of daytraders talk about support/resistance, breakouts, oscillators, etc. But no one ever seems to discuss trend following. Does anyone out there look for stocks that are moving in a definite direction, jump on board, hoping to ride the momentum for a while? Or is the market just too choppy these days to do that? I haven't had much experience strictly trend trading, but it seems that the times that I have, the market is just getting ready to reverse. Anyone use trend following with success?

2. Find me a trend that has been consistent for more than 5 days. In all honesty, that would be great, but the only trend is a prevailing downward one with occasional extreme updrafts that kill you(besides coal stocks). Lately, i've just been fading every move, both up and down, but I'm a swing trader lately. Hopefully, if a trend begins, I'll go back to breakout trading. I've had 2 good brekout wins all week (appb for 2.5 and cnx for 1.75) Every other one has ever been a loss or a very small win before my trailing stop took it out. When trends start to form again, I think everyone will trade much better. The last bull market tought everyone to be a trend follower and buy the stocks that were most up. I don't think people have been capable or willing to adapt to a choppy market which we have now. It is hard. It took me almost 2 months of losing before I finally addapted my new strategy that is more apropriate(see great new pattern thread). Hopefully, I will be able to go back to trend following when the market gets more consistent. Even if the market is a bear market, some stocks always are going up, but besides coal stocks I can't think of any.