Trend Following - Starting with $30,000

Discussion in 'Journals' started by AnimatedTrades, Jun 22, 2011.

1. I am starting the journal with $30,000 that I have saved up. Now I will either multiply it or lose it!

I am a long time lurker to this board. Decided it is time to start a personal trading journal here. It will help keep me accountable, and I can get beneficial feedback from others.

A little about me:

I am 24 years old and was first introduced to the stock market when I was around 7. There was a board game I used to play called “Stock Market Game”. I have been interested ever since.

When I got a job out of high school I began saving to start trading my own account. I continued throughout college and have been trading for around 4 years. Recently, I graduated with a finance degree and quit my job. I am going to attempt to trade full time.

My strategy:

I am using a trend following strategy. Buying breakouts and selling breakdowns. I trade off of daily charts and hold until stopped out. This can last days to months.

Because I cannot show live trading over these time periods I will try to animate as many trades as possible so you can see what I did.

Here are two trade I already animated:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cg68XoanxsQ&feature=related
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ISCEDrTdXKo

Here is a spreadsheet I will keep updated with all my trades:

http://bit.ly/k5BLmI

*Keep in mind these are only closed trades, and I close my losers a lot faster than my winners. So this spreadsheet will be skewed a little at first until more time passes.

I will post every trade I close and open, plus things I learn along the way.

I look forward to being an active part of these community! Please hit me up with any questions or criticisms.

2. Wow! You are losing more than I am. That makes me feel better! :)