Trend following and Fading the Market

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Big_M_Surfer, Feb 18, 2004.

1. Hi everyone this is my first post, even if I'm watching posts on ET from a few months.

I'm a beginner I started studing the markets and basically all what concern the trading endeavor almost 1 year and a half ago and I started real trading from about 8 months.

I'm daytrading the E-Minidow 5$, using the 1-min chart for my entryes and looking also to the tick chart and 5min chart for shorter and longer perspective.

I basially use a breakout metodology who consist of Ross Techniques filtered with other very simples rules.

I'm still not taking $$ out from the market with consistency but I'm still alive and that's something for a beginner like me, who is "growing" in the trading endeavor every day a little bit.

In these last days when the market was really very choppy and all Bk and momentum strategies are not working at all and I'm mostly out of the market, I'm thinking about studing also a contrarian metodology to use in these kind of markets.

For the most part traders are trend followers OR trend faders but I think it is important if someone want to do this job professionally to be both according to the circumstances.

I would like to have your opinions especially from experienced traders, and also if you can give me some suggestion about building a contrarian metodology.

Thank you to everyone.

R.

2. dbphoenix

dbphoenix

Generally speaking, if you're a beginner, it's best to stick with one strategy until you know it inside and out and can develop a trading "persona" that doesn't get tossed around with every little wavelet.

On the other hand, if the strategy you've chosen doesn't generate enough trades for you to learn anything, then you may as well not trade at all. Therefore, looking at strategies that will enable you to participate when the breakout strategy isn't working would not be unreasonable.