transitioning into an institutional career from prop

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by BOSS_HOG, Aug 13, 2003.

1. I have been a prop trader for 3 years now and have been thinking about applying my knowledge/ skills towards an institutional career- getting involved with a successful hedge fund or asset management firm. I feel that I would benefit from a more focused and professional environment than is found at many typical prop shops and I would be excited at the prospect of working with a dedicated team. I have been successful in my trading and am very hard working and ambitious. I have my series 7,63 and 55 and am currently studying for the chartered market technician certification. I know that I would fit very well into one of these types of firms as an analyst or trader and need to know what is the best way to go about procuring one of these positions. It is very difficult to find even a list by locale of hedge funds/ asset management firms, if I did, I could begin to canvass the firms in my area- does anyone know of somewhere where I could find a list like this??
    And if anyone with a hedge fund/ asset management background can give me some insight into what working at one of these firms is like in terms of culture, salary and advancement potential, I would appreciate it very much.

Good trading to all,
    bosshog

2. I think your goal is pretty much the same as 90% on the board (almost all would love to work at a hedge fund), and from my expereince, you either know someone, get lucky randomly, or have an IVY league degree that is heavy in some sort fo quant work..

I am trying to do the same, if you have a solid trading record that helps of course.
    I would recommend head hunters, college alumni, and of course networking. The last one mentioned is the most important.